Dogs

Homer – D’oh!

My current blessing is my dog. Homer. The biggest pain in my ass. The reason we can’t have nice things. He’s currently hating his life, wrapped in a bandage with a cone of shame and some sore parts – but we will get there in a minute. I had a what-if moment the other day and I need to reflect. I remember when I got the message with the following picture:

546053_808031395889869_898581935_n

I was working as a chef at a premiere nursing home in Colorado. I was so happy! I couldn’t wait for those old timers to finish their meals. I remember speeding and passing a cop and feeling a drop in my stomach. Don’t hit your brakes, don’t turn on your lights! I walked in on the most ovary imploding sight.

My husband (then fiance) boxed the puppy in our spare back bedroom. He was so tiny! Smaller than our 10 lb Yorkshire terrier mix. He was snuggled up against the BIGGEST Valentine’s day teddy bear I have ever seen. And no – it wasn’t for me! He wanted the little guy to feel like he had a safe place next to a makeshift-mommy teddy bear! The most petite little yawns and sweetest puppy breath! I loved him right then and there. I snuggled that little “boosch-boosch”, as I called him, until my arms gave out.

1606237_10153787458635529_1011862800_o

We went through many names. Bear, Moose, Boosch, Bullwinkle. We still get a good laugh to this day at the thought of shouting “BULLWINKLE! GET IN THE HOUSE! COME HERE BULLWINKLE!” Anyways, it wasn’t long before he started having messes in the house. Every time we found a pile we’d shout “D’OH!” Thus, Homer was just so fitting! At the time, Brian and I had been together about 7 years. Homer was our first real responsibility together (aside from rent).

I felt like such a proud puppy mom sitting there with this little monster at his first veterinary appointment.We found out he had worms and a heart murmur! Anyways, he’s 2 now and at his latest appointment, they found the heart murmur to be minimally noticeable.

homerda
First vet visit.

Last week, while out terrorizing the neighborhood, this boosch-bag deeply sliced one of his pads on who knows what. Brian and I treated him and wrapped his paw. The next day he wouldn’t let us touch him and his paw was very puffy. Brian took him in and they had to put him under anesthesia to treat his paw. Much to my surprise, he also decided to neuter the beast. It was definitely for the best and the best time as well. We learned that pups with murmurs can have major complications under anesthesia.

12901016_10156748590130529_6461680301508242365_o
Only pink wrap with hearts will do!

I honestly had a hard time sleeping that night. What if our little boosch bag, full of d’oh moments didn’t make it? Yes, my house would be a lot cleaner but I wouldn’t have that sweet, snoring, tooting, drooling, beast to come home to. His deviated septum nose and his bottom canine tooth that never grew back.

I love this Homer-d’oh-mer!

Allen-312
Sporting a handsome bow tie at our wedding!

Leave a comment